When was opened the Mullin Museum? It was founded in 2010 and the Mullin Automotive Museum strives to educate guests about 20th-century French automotive styling and design. The museum boasts nearly 47,000 square feet of exhibit space in an elegantly designed structure, which was previously owned by legendary newspaper publisher Otis Chandler.

After Chandler’s death in 2006, Peter W. Mullin acquired the property and began an extensive remodel utilizing the talents of architect David Hertz and Interscape Construction. Designed by The Scenic Route, the Mullin Automotive Museum evokes the pre-war salons of the Grand Palais in Paris.

In addition to its sweeping gallery spaces, the museum includes a roof garden, theater, gift shop and archival storage.

The founder of Mullin Museum

Peter W. Mullin has had a lifelong romance with automobiles. He is a devoted supporter of the Pebble Beach Concours d’Elegance and other concours events around the globe. He has entered and driven his cars in vintage races and rallies for the last 25 years, both in the United States and abroad.


The collection

Located in the seaside city of Oxnard, California, a short stroll from the Pacific Coast Highway, the Mullin Automotive Museum is home to a treasure trove of Bugattis and Delahayes.

The permanent collection displays feature the largest private collection of Bugatti automobiles in the world as well as in depth studies of the artistry, engineering and imagination of the Bugatti family. Furniture, sculpture, paintings, and engineering breakthroughs are highlighted throughout the museum.

Among the exhibitions at the Mullin museum are The Art of Bugatti, Lady of the Lake, and L'epoque des Carrossiers: The Art and Times of the French Coachbuilders, that last of which showcases more than 30 cars from the era of coachbuilding.

Iconic models show in Mullin Museum:

Voisin Type C27 Roadster

Designed by Gabriel Voisin with the help of architect André "Noël-Noël" Telmont, this 1934 Voisin Type C27 Aerosport Coupe vanished sometime after the mid-1950s. The second of just two examples produced, this Type C27 Aerosport Coupe belonged to Telmont for more than a decade; Telmont sold the car after World War II. Believed to have been sold to a scrap dealer at some point during its disappearance, the Voisin Type C27 Aerosport resurfaced masked in another body. Voisin expert Philipp Moch discovered the C27 and had it reconstructed using three period photographs of the car's original appearance.


Hispano-Suiza J12 Cabriolet.

After serving in the Stork squadron during World War I and earning five aerial victories, Andre Dubonnet worked on an independent suspension system with engineer Antoine-Marie Chedru, which he patented in 1927. Dubonnet attended the 1932 Paris Salon, where he purchased a Hispano-Suiza chassis that had received extensive modifications. With design work by avant-garde car designer Jean Andreau and the coachwork of Jacques Saoutchik, the 1938 Dubonnet Hispano-Suiza H6B "Xenia" was born. Named after Dubonnet's ex-wife, Xenia remained hidden during the war before re-emerging on June 9, 1946. The car was purchased by Peter Mullin in 2003 and is now owned by the Peter Mullin Automotive Museum Foundation.


Bugatti Type 57SC

Regarded as the most beautiful and desired body of the Type 57s, the 1936 Bugatti Type 57SC Atlantic came equipped with a supercharged inline-eight making 210 horsepower. One of three produced, the chassis no. 57374 Bugatti Type 57SC was first owned by Lord Victor Rothschild, who drove it around London as a college student and later blew the engine. By 1945, the car made it to American shores, where it was the subject of a complete restoration, and where it has remained ever since. In 2003, the no. 57374 Type 57SC Atlantic won best-of-show at the Pebble Beach Concours d'Elegance. 


Where is Mullin Museum?

1421 Emerson Avenue | Oxnard, CA 93033





edited by Olivia

Website Design and Website Development by TIS